Federal Universities in Nigeria

Nigeria is made up of thirty-six states, including the federal capital territory (Abuja). There are over 40 federal universities across the country, with one or two, in almost every state.

Today, we are going to look at a complete list of all the Federal Universities in Nigeria with their official website addresses and their year of establishments as listed by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

See also:

  1. List of State Universities in Nigeria
  2. Accredited Private Universities in Nigeria
  3. List of all Federal, State and Private Polytechnics in Nigeria

Federal Universities in Nigeria

(Mobile users) Scroll to the side to view the complete table contents below:

1Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi1988
2Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria1962
3Bayero University, Kano1975
4Federal University Gashua, Yobe2013
5Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun2017
6Federal University of Technology, Akure1981
7Federal University of Technology, Minna1982
8Federal University of Technology, Owerri1980
9Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State2011
10Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina2011
11Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State2011
12Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State2011
13Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State2011
14Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State2011
15Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa2011
16Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State2011
17Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State2011
18Federal University, Birnin Kebbi2013
19Federal University, Gusau Zamfara2013
20Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike1992
21Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola1981
22National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos2002
23Nigeria Police Academy Wudil2013
24Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna1985
25Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka1992
26Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife1962
27University of Abuja, Gwagwalada1988
28Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta1988
29University of Agriculture, Makurdi1988
30University of Benin1970
31University of Calabar1975
32University of Ibadan1948
33University of Ilorin1975
34University of Jos1975
35University of Lagos1962
36University of Maiduguri1975
37University of Nigeria, Nsukka1960
38University of Port-Harcourt1975
39University of Uyo1991
40Usumanu Danfodiyo University1975
41Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State2018
42Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna2018
43Nigerian Army University Biu2018

Recommended: JAMB Cut-Off Marks for Admission into Tertiary Institutions

in conclusion, The National Universities Commission (NUC) is the major accreditation and regulatory body that enforces uniform standard and sets admissions capacity of every university in Nigeria

See Also:

Leave a Comment